Autumnal Equinox – Ode to Friendship

Autumnal Equinox – Mabon.
My favorite time of the year.

The leaves change into a panoply of color.
The air changes into something more than just oxygen.
Temperatures realign – no longer resembling a barbecue oven.
The sky turns into exquisite Swiss to London Blue Topaz.

Autumnal Equinox: the day and night are balanced in duration.

Autumnal Equinox: the day and night are balanced in duration.

I enjoy the walking along sidewalks with leaves strewn all about. The first fond memories for me of this experience began in 1958. I took long walks even at an early age and became enthralled with the smell of burning leaves (you could do that then), the rustle underneath my feet and the pure autumn sky.

Autumn Color

It was the fall of 1959, while walking in the surrounding neighborhood I saw two other kids rolling in the leaves on the lawn of an apartment building. This serendipity required sharing, and I soon began rolling on the ground with this brother and sister who were having a ball. The older one of the two was my age. Paul along with his sister Lynn became my friends. Paul and I attended the same elementary school together, although he was a year ahead of me. From that point going forward we worked and played together. Our interests varied as we grew up, moved and attended different schools.

I went into the Marines, he continued his university studies.
Decades later, we still live and work in different parts of the country but never lost contact, we share the one thing in common, being friends.

Perhaps my color has faded a bit too, and certainly the cranial covering has mostly vanished, but autumn indeed is a beautiful season.

