Choices We Make – Cause Us to Think Later

Timothy Ferriss

Timothy Ferriss (Photo credit: davidcrow)

I ran across an interesting link tweeted by Tim Ferris. It has to do with people who have communicated with their care givers on the things they look back and wish they had chosen different in their life. As they say hindsight is 20/20. In reading this, does it make you pause and think about the choices you’re making now? Perhaps I’m wrong but most people don’t spend a lot of time on introspection and course correction. I could be wrong…

Here’s the link, and here’s the summary:

  1.   I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  2.   I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
  3.   I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4.   I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5.   I wish that I had let myself be happier.

Sometimes you read a poll on what people regret and you think there’s a lot of continuing the shallowness of life reflected in this summary. Again, I could be wrong. Take a look and see what you think.

According to askmen

1 – Not going after the hot girl
2 – Not spending enough time with dad
3 – Ignoring your health
4 – Being a workaholic
5 – Not sleeping with all willing parties
6 – Getting married too soon
7 – Not splurging on a bad-ass car
8 – Not getting in a fight
9 – Not staying in touch with friends
10 – Not playing a team sport

Ten disturbing facts about income inequality.
_____________________________

Sometimes we find ourselves stuck in habits which are self-defeating. Whatever your choices are now, are you making ones that later on you might regret? Perhaps this is a sign of maturity when we realize we control our own happiness and direction.

Add your comments, tell me what you think. Keep it to the point, please.

