I hereby give notice

Image  I’m past listening to the excuses for bad behaviorWe have heard them used repeatedly such as, the Islāmic fundamentalists are hitting back at the west for the crusades. Really, what’s the statute of limitations on that one?

I’m giving notice, I may be old, but not old enough to be held responsible for any of the following:

The Crusades – sorry this old story won’t wash with me about people living in the 21st century using that as an excuse for destructive behavior. Besides, I just can’t get all that worked up on whether someone does or doesn’t believe in a god.

Simon Pegg at 2010 Comic Con San Diego.The Vikings – I know some of my ancestors raided Scotland but look at the upside it has produced comedians like Simon Pegg(1).

Braveheart / William Wallace – Not sure where the Livingston’s stood in this battle with Edward Longshanks, no matter we pissed them all off when our ancestors became protestants and had to flee to the Netherlands.

Revolutionary War – I must admit, many of my relatives were directly involved with this breakaway movement from England. Look at the upside, y’all are a lot smaller and more manageable and you got a new name for the group, the United Kingdom. That’s a sort of win isn’t it?

Slavery – I can’t say I’ve ever wanted to be that responsible for another human being and in that much control of another persons life. My adult children may disagree with that statement. My ancestors were publicly and privately completely against this idea anyway, so I get a pass.

Scalping – I don’t recall ever wanting to remove someones hair and scalp although I do lack a certain amount of growth on mine. Our ancestors never kept good records so I think I have complete deniability on this one too.

So for now on, I’m putting everyone on notice, whatever my ancestors have allegedly done in the past has no bearing on your life or mine. From now on, everyone has to be accountable for what they do, not what someone else did several hundred years ago.

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You’re on your own.  And you know what you know. You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.” ~ Ted Geisel aka Dr. Seuss

Dr. Seuss Wooden Nickel

 

1. Urban dictionary – what’s a Glaswegian

ZZ Top interview 1987 – This has nothing to do with this post but I like them, so deal with it…

