Bridges . . Scenic Wonder

HO scale model railroad.

HO scale model railroad. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I like bridges. They show our creativity and skill in overcoming some of the most formidable and often beautiful natural landscapes. There are innumerable examples of this architecture around the world, from covered wooden bridges to large expansive highways over river and ocean waterways.

These obstacle crossing marvelous architectural structures are often inspiration for scale modelers as well. I include myself in that category because I collect model trains.

When I travel I find myself looking at and often taking pictures of bridges.

Mississippi bridge crossing from Missouri into Illinois – video

Livingston county Kentucky

Crossing into Livingston county Kentucky.

Old Tennessee Bridge

Old wooden Tennessee Bridge

Vancouver - Columbia river bridge

Vancouver – Columbia river bridge

Windsor Eton bridge over Thames river

Windsor – Eton bridge over Thames river

Lichfield Minster pool

Lichfield Minster pool bridge

Chicago downtown river bridge

Chicago downtown river bridge

Rock City lovers leap foot bridge

Rock City lovers leap foot bridge

