Mayberry is Gone… Not Forgotten

Publicity photo from the television program Mayberry RFD

Publicity photo – television program Mayberry R.F.D. Pictured are Ken Berry (Sam Jones), Buddy Foster (Mike Jones), and Andy Griffith (Sheriff Andy Taylor). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Listened to a song by Rascal Flats, a tribute to the late Andy Griffith. it reminded me of being a kid and the experiences I had which are gone. I recall walking down the street, 9 or 10 years old, street lights producing shadows as I walked toward home. I passed by a large corner round porch with old men listening to the baseball game called by Herb Carneal & Halsey Hall. I walked up and they motioned to me to sit and listen with them. During breaks we would talk and then when the game resumed attention was placed back on the game.

I joined a grade school friend and we walked over to someone’s house with whom he was familiar. Sat down in his kitchen and this man talked with us about flying. One thing led to another and before long we both had an invitation for a weekend flight. Saturday came and we boarded a single engine 4 seater plane and took off. First time out and I was allowed to handle the controls during level flight. Later when he took control, we flew low over some rail yards, waved at a few cows, saw the sunset and flew back to where we started.

I believe I was 8 or 9 and went on my first 3-4 day fishing / hunting trip with my mothers boy friend. Learned about baits, how to be safe using a .22 rifle, and learning to talk to private land owners about crossing or hunting on their property.

I remember opening a department store door for adult women so they could pass ahead of me. Boarded elevators where the operator wore white gloves and asked what floor would you like?

Yes, Mayberry is gone and for most in the digital age they probably think it was only a TV fantasy.